The following was originally shared on Facebook by the National Vaccine Information Center page. The content’s source is CBS8.com. When this appeared in my news feed, I clicked the link and watched the video at the source website. I then attempted to share on my own timeline, only to have a dialog box from Facebook open and inform me that I was blocked from sharing the link because it is malware. This is the first item that I have ever had censored, and I really believe it deserves some attention.

First, watch the video report for yourself if you like.

Alright, so let’s just go over that content now. If you were born within the State of California any time after 1983, you were given a ‘heel-prick test’ to test for genetic disorders. I had one, which is how the doctors diagnosed my congenital hypothyroidism when I was only a few days old in 1985.

I am not taking issue with the test itself. I am only concerned about what happens to those samples after the test is done. Apparently, in California, the samples are sent to a ‘Genetic Warehouse’ located in Richmond, CA. There they have stored all of the baby blood samples since 1983!

So, without the consent of the parents of these infants, the samples are sent and stored for all time in this warehouse. According to the report, the samples are stripped of any identification as to who the samples came from. However, you can call this warehouse and request that your samples be destroyed. So, if they strip all of the identification from each sample as it is stored here, how exactly can you call and demand that your personal blood spot sample be destroyed? They must have a way of finding who the samples came from, which means that there is still a link to the identity of the person whose DNA is on those little sample cards.

This is definitely a cause for concern for anyone who is worried about protecting their privacy and identity and DNA. A mother interviewed in the report says that she believes that consent should be obtained before storing this level of personal information anywhere, and I agree.

The people involved with the warehouse claim that the samples are stored in order to perform research on genetic disorders, however if that were the case why would they store all the baby blood samples and not just the ones that belonged to patients who ended up testing positive for some kind of disorder?

For example: I was born with no thyroid gland, an accident of in utero development which is becoming more common in modern years than it was when I was born in 1985. My blood samples have been sent to Berkeley for research and they had to ask for consent before they were able to send them. My blood has every reason to be stored in some weird genetic warehouse because I actually do have a genetic disorder. However, I have two sons who were also born in this state, in 2005 and 2009. They have no genetic issues, they were both born perfectly healthy and normal. But according to this report, their blood samples are stored there as well. Why?

No one asked for my consent to take my newborn’s blood and store it in some giant warehouse. I see no reason why their blood samples need to be there, nor the blood samples of any person born without disorders, especially not without the consent of the parents.

So, in summary, if you were born in California any time after 1983, you are in that genetic warehouse whether you were born with a genetic disorder or not.

Facebook did not want me sharing this story on my timeline, which makes me want to share it and spread it around even more than I did before. My antivirus, antispyware and antimalware applications tell me that the source website for this story is clean, not malicious and not malware. Please, share this story with anyone you know, especially if they live in California, were born here after ’83, or have children who were born here. People have a right to know where their DNA is being stored.

 

 

