In just a few weeks time we are apparently expecting a rather large asteroid to make an appearance over Earth. According to many sources this will be the largest celestial body passing by at the closest distance ever! I don’t know about that, but it is coming pretty close.

You know me by now, I cover every doomsday theory that catches my attention. Not because I want them to be correct and to watch the world end. I actually always hope that they are wrong, but I don’t want to be caught off-guard if the world actually does face some kind of Armageddon scenario.

So here is a report from The Lip TV that I found on YouTube, talking about Asteroid 2013 TX68.

 

 

I think the threat posed by meteors and asteroids, as far as apocalyptic events go, is the scariest one mainly because it is the most unpredictable threat we have. Things coming from outer space and crashing into our planet is one of the scenarios that, if true, the human race would have the least amount of control over.

NASA is warning that this asteroid will pass by, but their calculations, as usual, leave a lot to be desired. From a NASA article:

During the upcoming March 5 flyby, asteroid 2013 TX68 could fly past Earth as far out as 9 million miles (14 million kilometers) or as close as 11,000 miles (17,000 kilometers).

So it will pass roughly between 9,000,000 miles and 11,000 miles from Earth…there is a really big friggin difference between those two numbers coming from NASA. I don’t know about you, but I don’t like discrepancies of that size when it comes to Near Earth Objects passing by.

NASA is not a fan favorite of the conspiracy crowd these days, so I don’t really like to use them as a source. They are, after all, a part of the U.S. Department of Defense, and we all know that the U.S. government can be trusted less than a meth addict with a car load of stereo equipment for sale. Just sayin’.

That being said, they go on to say in the above quoted article that while there is no probability that this object will impact Earth during the March flyby, there is a possibility that it may impact the planet when it comes by again in September of this year, a bit closer.

So while I won’t be making an plans for March 5th, I do hope and expect to wake up on March 6th and find that the world is still here. Optimism is a virtue, the power of positive thinking.

